Stuffed Redpepper (with bulgur wheat)

pepper
Now, I think this recipe is apparently an healthier option then the normal stuffed pepper as bulgur (bulgar wheat) is used to fill it. Without getting frantic about whether healthy it is or not, I tend to use bulgar in a lot of dish anyway, I find it very tasty.Once you get used to doing it, you can try using the same stuffing for different vegetables like this one stuffed aubergine.aubergine

Here we go:

4 – 5 spoonful of olive oil
5 – 6 preferably small or medium size redpeppers (you can use pointed redpeppers as well, they look quite sweet on the plate)
1 water glass of bulgar wheat
2 tomatoes (or equivalent of canned and chopped tomatoes)
2 onions
2 – 3 spring onions
a bit of salt, blackpepper, mint and allspice
2 spoonful of currant and pinenuts

1. Wash the peppers, cut the heads (do not throw them away you will use them!) and clean the seeds.
2. Heat some water, pour a bit over the bulgar to soak.
3. Chop the onions and spring onions then stir and fry them in a little bit of water. (I try not to fry olive oil as it gets very unhealthy when it is burnt)
4. Then add the bulgar wheat into the pan, stir well, then add the chopped tomatoes, currants and pinenuts. (some people like to fry the pinenuts slightly in another pan, tastes nice)
5. Season well with allspice, mint, blackpepper and a little bit of salt (I sometimes don`t use and actually try to compensate it with spices usually in many recipes), fry a bit more , then leave it cool down.
6. Once it is a bit cool, stuff your peppers with this mixture, put their heads on, and place in a deep or wide pan.
7. Pour some boiled water over them, close the lid and cook for 20 minutes, then check occasionally until the peppers get soft.
Serve warm or cold. and with yoghurt!

Enjoy!

Time to prepare: 15 – 20 mins
Time to cook     : 20 – 30 mins (depends on how hard the redppers are)

5 thoughts on “Stuffed Redpepper (with bulgur wheat)

  1. Marcella

    I love how simple your recipes are. It makes it feel more possible to cook a good weeknight dinner. One question – are you frying in olive oil AND a little bit of water?

  2. thesmallestkitchen

    thank you! not all of them are my recipes, so we can call it the fusion cuisine I suppose : )

    I try not to fry olive oil, I usually put a bit of water and cook the onions in it first, then add the ingredients and then add the olive oil to sautee…

    Some people may not prefer doing this but it actually loses its nutritional benefits. I want to correct myself as well, because I am not a doctor or food expert or anything, so I can not say it is unhealthy to fry olive oil for sure; but from my readings it seems like not good to fry anything anyway!

  3. thesmallestkitchen

    Turkish cuisine is very wide, Ottoman, wider I think. But in this blog, as I tried to point out in many posts, I hope to show that more or less cooking is very similar around the Mediterranean. Recipes evolve a bit depending on the country. And sometimes, as an amateur cook, I do my own fusion dishes.

Leave a Reply

