Jerusalem Artichoke Soup

je

New year! New recipes!

This is some recipe from River Cottage which I adapted slightly. I remember when I was a child my mother was giving me jerusalem artichokes as a snack, its taste is so vivid and very special too!

I think it had been years since I had it last, when I found them in the farmers market, I enjoyed the same memory. I am not sure the new generations will have the same opportunity like us, like picking olives from the trees, enjoying sunshine and so on, but I think we should try our best to achieve that. So I suggest you all to have a look at this link and apply if you feel like you can buy a land in the proposed land for another Heathrow terminal!

Click here for Greenpeace Campaign link

Now, how to cook jerusalem artichokes?

I really like them in Mediterranean way, marinated in olive oil with lemon juice and cold but soup is not bad at all!

Here are the ingredients:

4- 5 medium size jerusalem artichokes (peeled and chopped roughly)
2- 3 garlic cloves (chopped)
1 medium size onion (diced)
1 big or two small leeks (chopped) I think you can use potatoes instead
double cream (I want to try plain yoghurt next time)
50 grams unsalted butter or equivalent olive oil
dill

How do we cook it?

1. Once you melt the butter add all the chopped vegetables and let them relax for about 15 minutes.
2. Add 5 standard glasses of or 1 litres of water. (If you like vegetable stock add it to the water)
3. Once you bring it to boil, simmer it down till the vegetables get really soft.
4. Put the soup in blender or liquidise.
5. Add 50 ml of double cream and chopped dill to serve.
For making caramelised butter
You can serve your soup with a sauce on top of it as in Turkish style, simply melt 20 grams of unsalted butter, add red chilli flakes or redpeppers with dried dill or dried mint. Be careful not to burn the sauce then pour it slowly over the soup just before serving in bowls.

Enjoy!

Photo by Cafemama

One thought on “Jerusalem Artichoke Soup

Leave a Reply

